Wednesday, January 24, 2007

Day Prize Short List Announced

I have just received an e-mailed bulletin from Mr. Spaceman himself, Small Press and Alternative Comics Expo promotor Robert "Bob" Corby (who needs a haircut. I saw him today, and while the top remains nice and smooth and shiny, the back's looking a little shaggy.) Dave Sim, former writer and artist of Cerebus and administrator of the Howard Eugene Day Memorial Prize, has announced the short list of nominees for the 2006 Day Prize. So, without further ado, or comments about Bob's grooming habits, the nominees are:

1.) Abominable
Lunchbreak Comics
Pat Lewis
5326 5th Ave. #24
Pittsburgh PA 15232
2.) Beaver
Eight Ball Graphics
Jim Coon
174 Madison St.
Cortland NY 13045
3.) Being Different
Michelle Arcand
434 Colorado Ave.
Kansas City MO 64124
4.) Chemistry-Comic & CD Soundtrack
Awakening Comics
Steve Peters
17 N. York Rd. #3
Willow Grove PA 19090
$3.00-Comic; CD-$7.00; Both-$8.00
5.) Guitar Solo
Mike Dawson
17 Berkeley Pl #2R
Brooklyn NY 11217
6.) One Horse Town
Lunchbreak Comics
Pat Lewis
5326 5th Ave. #24
Pittsburgh PA 15232
7.) Potlatch #5
“Too Much Matheson”
Angry Dog Press
Chad Lambert-writer
Tom Williams-artist
2982 Calusa Dr.
Hamilton OH 45011
8.)Under the Midnight Sun
Dusty Neal- Artist
Christopher Studabaker-Writer
2708 South County Home Rd.
Bluffton IN 46714
Since it was Dave's turn this year to wade through all the crap submitted and whittle it down to the short list shown above, his business partner, the one name wonder known as Gerhard is tasked with the selection of this year's winner, which will be announced during a ceremony at this year's SPACE, which expands to become a two day show this year and will take place on April 21 and 22. The Day Prize presentation will be on Saturday the 21st.

I'll have more details about this year's SPACE as it gets closer.


Anonymous said...

so pat lewis is competing with pat lewis? this seems like a bad idea ...

Ray "!!" Tomczak said...

It worked for Helen Mirren at the Golden Globes. She was nominated twice in the Best Actress in a Drama Category and, sure enough, took home the chintzy little statue.